TRAFFICKED: A DARK ROMANCE (HOSTAGES BOOK 5)

 

TRAFFICKED: A DARK ROMANCE (HOSTAGES BOOK 5)

 

By Alexis Abbott

 

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars

 

Blurb

 

Savior. Kidnapper. Hero. Corrupter.
I expected the Russian Mafia to have some secrets on their luxury yacht when I stole it.

I didn’t expect a beautiful, wilted angel, held captive in the walls of a sadistic red room.

The men I’m running from were going to ruin her. Instead, I painted the room with their blood.

I saved her, but there’s something about her that drives me wild and makes me want to possess her. She pushes my buttons, and when her amber eyes burn into mine, I don’t resist my urges.

This foolish girl doesn’t know what she’s in for.

Or maybe she does, and she just likes playing with fire.

It’s going to get her burned, if she isn’t careful, but the way she calls me Daddy is all the convincing I need.

I will not let her go.

 

 

Review

 

Vladimir and Autumn.

 

Two dark, passionate souls brought together by chance… or possibly fate.

 

Author Alexis Abbott quickly creates two multidimensional main characters, and the process by which did this was remarkably seamless.  Rarely do I feel this connected to or knowledgeable about the romantic leads right from the start. That said, knowing there was a significant age difference between the two never stood out to me, or seemed the least bit unnatural in this pairing in any way. The only time I would knowingly be aware of it was when Vladimir donned his protective shield, whether that was making Autumn remain secured away on the yacht when he made a supply run, or applying his experience to save the day. She may have called him “Daddy,” but that was the one element that could potentially have been more extensively developed for full play.

 

What else did I really enjoy about this story?

 

  • The action/drama scenes were original and exciting. There was absolutely nothing lackluster about the robustness of these scenes.
  • The sex scenes could have been used to replace a plotline, but instead – minus the story-based ones – it was left to the reader’s imagination so the story could continue evolving organically.
  • Trafficked offers a solemn glimpse into the human trafficking trade, if nothing else showing that it can happen to anyone.
  • The characters were intellectually compatible.
  • The wedding scene – brilliant! It was so “them.”
  • Story was well-paced and a fast, satisfying read.

 

Trafficked is a steady-paced romantic drama with two intelligent and interesting main characters, edgy action and drama, and laced with steamy seduction. It is a satisfying read.

 

This voluntary review was posted on Amazon and Goodreads on March 15, 2020.

Leave a comment