Bend: A Dark Mafia Romance

Bend: A Dark Mafia Romance

By B.B. Hamel

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

Bend over, sweetheart.

I’m good at two things: rough sex and brutal violence, and I don’t know which one I love more.

That’s why the mafia give me a prize — the sweet and innocent Jodie Walsh. I helped destroy her family, and now she’s mine to use however I want.

Too bad she’s more like a burden. I never wanted some good girl slowing me down, but I have no choice.

My bosses want her down on her knees, obeying my every command, and I can’t deny that I want the same. Her gorgeous body and soft moans make me want to give her more.

I’m supposed to hand her back when I’m finished, but her curves are too tempting and the way she looks at me, her lips parted with lust, drives me f**king insane.

I’ll teach her to submit and she’ll learn to love it. She’ll beg for it when this is all over.

And when they try to take her away?
I’ll kill them all.

She’ll bend, and I’ll break.

 

 

Review:

 

How author B.B. Hamel fully carves out Dante and Jodie, the two main characters, chipping away at their multiple layers, is certainly the strong part of Bend. Dante and Jodie are both strong, resilient, and smart characters (and honestly?, who wouldn’t want a guy like Dante, Mafioso of not?), and the key secondary characters – Drago, Genarro, and Pagano – are, too. The solidly developed characters, steady pace, and physically charged scenes that nurture Dante’s and Jodie’s romance make it worth the read.

 

Dante is forced to acknowledge that his loyalties to the mob, as well as to his life mentor, may be misplaced when he is forced to keep Jodie Walsh, the daughter of a slain Irish mob leader, prisoner in his apartment. Dante has no intention of enforcing his boss’s plan – or following his mentor’s advice – to force Jodie into compliance so she can be turned into a sex slave. Jodie gives in to her growing attraction to Dante, refusing to escape when presented with the opportunity. What started out as an undesirable situation for both characters evolves organically into a trusting and loving commitment. How the eventual showdown between Dante and his boss and former mentor over Jodie played out was a bit puzzling to me, if I’m being honest, but it allowed for the storyline to conclude and segue into a proper HEA.

 

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of Bend.

 

Review originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on November 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

