Player’s Princess

Player’s Princess

By Abigail Graham

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

Football player. Sassy princess. Game on.
I only care about one thing.

Football.

Love? Ha, right. Relationships? Don’t need the distraction.

Stuck up princesses? Hell no.

Then fate dumped the biggest distraction of all right in my lap. Ana is like no one I’ve ever met. Innocent, pure, and beautiful. One look at her and I’m ready to go long. One smile and she makes me feel like a king.

Everyone on campus knows Ana is off limits, and if they don’t, her bodyguards teach them a quick lesson.

Too bad I’m a slow learner.

***
Quarterback Jason Powell is everything I shouldn’t want.
He’s foul-mouthed, cocky, and completely inappropriate. He’s also gorgeous, ripped, and too cocky for his own good.

I can’t stop thinking about him, and I can’t keep my hands off him. My mother hates him, the paparazzi chase us everywhere we go, and my bodyguards follow me everywhere, but I don’t care.

That arrogant football player, the one I don’t know if I want to slap or kiss, is the only one in the world who’s ever made me feel like royalty.

 

 

Review:

 

I absolutely loved this book! And I certainly don’t agree with the write-up that Jason is foul-mouthed, cocky and completely inappropriate! I found him sweet, adorable and admirable. Oh, and gorgeous and ripped, too. I loved Jason; he’s the perfect boyfriend.

 

Jason and Anastasia “Princess” have a sweet, genuine, innocent love, and their love story is a sweet love story. He reads “The Great Gatsby” to her. The “week of dates” was so romantic and sincere. Their expressions of love and affection for one another was true and genuine. Each of them have experienced their own heartache and personal sorrow, yet together they bring out the best in one another.

 

The side stories were also well executed. The professor who had a crush on Jason went to all ends to break up the two of them, and then to learn she was involved all along with Jason’s enemy. Ana’s mother, the queen, had experienced disgrace and heartache at the hands of a guy when she attended college in the States, and used this as the reason for wanting to keep Ana from Jason even though the situations were entirely different. Then there was Thorlief, who had been both the queen’s and Ana’s bodyguard; he loved the queen and thought of Ana as his daughter.

 

Author Abigail Graham uses great analogies and metaphors, and the infusion of humor as an element of the storytelling and Jason’s and Ana’s relationship is genius. Add to that the immersion of Ana’s accent and ignorance about things in this country and culture, and Jason’s actions appear even more pure and genuine. And the marching band bursting in at the wedding ceremony playing “Stars and Stripes Forever?” Priceless.

 

I provided this honest review in exchange for an ARC.

 

 

“What do you want from me?” I ask him.

 

“I want to watch you eat your first real cheeseburger. I want to take you to a movie. I want to get in a snowball fight. I want to roll in the grass. I want to run. I want to wake up next to you, make you breakfast, hold you while you sleep, wash your back in the bath. I want to be there when you’re sad and be with you when you’re happy. I want to save you.”

 

 

“I don’t want to hurt you. I think if we…dated, you would fall for me.”

 

“I’ve already fallen for you.”

 

“I mean for real. I do not know what I’m doing, Jason. I have never done this before, felt this way before. No one has ever spoken to me like you have spoken to me, touched me like you have touched me. I have been royalty all my life, but only you have ever made me feel like a princess.”

 

 

Favorite part?

The scene between Ana and her mother when she lays it all out there to her.

 

“I am not soiled,” I snarl. “I made love to a man who loves me. Perhaps you should try it sometime. It might make you less of a scheming, arrogant bitch.”

 

Review originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on June 15, 2016.

Leave a Reply

