Very Late Blooming

Very Late Blooming

By Hayden Hunt

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

It feels like I’ve lost everything.

I’m not at a particularly good point in my life right now. I’ve recently lost the only person I truly loved and I’m not sure how to get back on my feet. The things I once cared about so deeply simply don’t seem to matter anymore. I’ve lost my passion for life and I have no idea how to get it back. Honestly, at this point I don’t even have the energy to care about getting it back.

Until my loud and overly perky florist neighbor, Oliver, decides to weasel his way into my life.

I’ve got a love for life but have never been in love… until I met him

Things are going good for me, they usually are. I’ve got good friends, a great relationship with my parents, I feel very passionate about my job as a florist. Things aren’t going too bad in my romantic life either, though I do have a tendency to jump from guy to guy pretty quickly. But what can I say? I haven’t felt that urge to settle down yet.

That is, until I meet my new neighbor, Gabe. Getting involved with a neighbor seems like a terrible idea… But I can’t help myself, my connection to him feels magnetic.

 

 

Review:

Gabe hasn’t had a very happy family life, and when his grandmother passes away, he’s lost the one person who he believed cared about him. She does, however, will him her condo, and once he moves in, comes to fall in love with his next door neighbor Oliver. Oliver is supportive and understanding, and the two pursue their mutual attraction for one another. Gabe, however, still suffers from anxiety and nearly loses out on a future with Oliver when he panics that he’s unworthy of Oliver and his family.

 

Author Hayden Hunt’s writing style consistently provides more light-hearted and carefree-type reads, and once again the main characters confront their problems and figure out how to work through them. In “Very Late Blooming”, the character of Gabe seems to be a bit more overwrought with self-inflicted angst than her characters typically are. Kudos, though, for taking it as an opportunity to promote support through Oliver’s ongoing encouragement to seek therapy/counseling and Gabe’s commitment to follow through with it.  The best part of the entire book, though, is the epilogue. No spoilers from me except to say it made the book worth reading just for that! – it was very well-written, the story concludes beautifully, and the reader can’t help but be smitten with Gabe and Oliver and their promising HEA.

 

I am voluntarily providing a review after reading an Advanced Reader Copy.

 

Huh? Part for me?

Not sure one’s first sexual experience would take place so anti-climatically and easily. Hunt rarely if ever pens a steamy, sizzling and chemically charged sex scene, and this book was no exception. The kisses stoked more flames, so leaving it to the reader’s imagination (and not writing any specific sex scenes) may have been more fulfilling.

 

As usual, there are numerous typos/word swaps and the book could use a sweep-through, but – again as usual – I’m able to overlook it because the story is so sweet, the characters are adorable and genuine, and there is no unnecessary angst that can’t (or doesn’t) get resolved.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on October 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

