Captive of the Hitman: A Bad Boy Mafia Romance Novel

Captive of the Hitman: A Bad Boy Mafia Romance Novel

By Alexis Abbott

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

“I was sent to kill her.”
There was one rule for this job. No witnesses.

Then I saw her. She wasn’t supposed to be there, and I can only imagine what those dirtbags had been planning for her with her gorgeous blonde hair and her deadly curves. So I did the one thing I knew I shouldn’t: I killed every a**hole in that room and I took her as my prize.

I don’t save people’s lives. I’m a killer, a hired hitman for the Russian mob. But I tell her to trust me, and I mean it. I’m not going to let anyone take her away from me. I’d sworn off women long ago, but I can’t resist her long legs and wicked mind, and every time I tell myself I’m being foolish, she gets down on her knees and begs me not to leave her.

I’d rather die than lose her and the baby I know she’ll give me.

 

 

Review:

 

One thing Alexis Abbott does well is develop bad boy mobsters that know how to protect and love their women. And love their women well. And care for their family – how Mikhail provides for Alicia’s mom is over-the-top amazing. She always crafts books with steady action-packed scenes and slimy antagonists that the reader wants to see get their due. Oh, and she’s always good about creating the perfect story-ending. This one was no exception and gave me goosebumps in the best way.

 

On the other end of the spectrum, I admit this story took time to grow on me, and it did, but I never fell in love with it. I did fall in love with Mikhail (who wouldn’t? sigh), but Alicia seemed like an absolute dimwit. She finally grew on me towards the end (spoiler) when she learned how to shoot a gun and took an active role in defeating Gregorovich. I also lost myself a bit in some of the goings-on related to the “jobs” and who was who.

 

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

“When this is done, and your life is safe from Gregorovich,” he says, peering into my eyes with those two dark tunnels into his soul, “I will marry you. And we will live in a beautiful home, with the sound of many little feet running about us. And your mother will stay in a guest suite. I will make a life with you, like I had no inkling of knowing I needed all these years.”

 

“Man of power or simple means, I love you, will love you for all time, and I will protect you, Alicia.”

 

 

 

The “huh?” part?

I was curious why they chose to name their first two children Leon, after Mikhail’s brother, and Eva, after Leon’s girlfriend. I worried that perhaps the two had been killed or something.

 

I also found it a bit implausible that for someone who always makes his hit and is the best there is, he (Mikhail) all of a sudden became so distracted by Alicia that he couldn’t do his job up to his typical peak performance.

 

I also found that Mikhail switched back and forth from Americanized comments/language to what would seem to be more “home country”-type language. It should really have been more consistent, probably, from the technical end of things, but in the big scheme of things, it probably didn’t matter.

 
Favorite part?

The epilogue/future that Mikhail arranged for him and Alicia and their family.

 

 

Recommend?

Hopefully the majority of typos and grammatical errors in the ARC will be corrected. I wasn’t convinced that the ARC had even been proofread, but I didn’t hold that against the author or the work when making my review. As far as recommending the book, yes, it’s a good enough read.

 

Review originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on June 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

