Irreparable (Wounded Souls Book One)

Irreparable (Wounded Souls Book One) 

By Amanda Lanclos

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

In one day your life can go from amazing to total devastation and for me it’s going to change forever. Who am I? My name is PFC Jameson Carter, and I am a United States Marine, or I was until a bomb detonated and took half of me with it. The only thing that kept me alive was the woman I had waiting back for me at home.
How do you go from being a complete person to being half of something? For me, I have help, but how can I be anything more than half of what I used to be? Then when the one person you count on, the person you lived for leaves you how do you react?
For Samantha Blalock life is easy, she helps repair people like me, the people who lose limbs. Something isn’t the same though, she’s changed. See I’ve known Samantha for years. She’s hiding something. Can we help each other through these trying times in our lives? Or does the fact remain that we are both irreparable?

 

Review:

Aside from typos/grammatical errors and a few inconsistencies – very distracting – I really enjoyed the story and the characters. There is a lot of depth to Jameson, and Sam(antha) is a complex and compelling character. Together, they’re a likeable match, made all the more realistic considering they both consider themselves “not whole” because of things that have happened to them along the way. It makes their coupling even stronger. Jameson captures such a wide range of emotions, but it’s clear deep down that he’s quite an amazing guy. Nowhere is this more evident than when he offers words at the funeral. This story helps to bring to the forefront the struggles one faces after suffering at the hands of war – to the lay person, it seems that Jameson should “man up” and not succumb to his feelings of “it should have been me” who died and not his buddies, but it’s not that easy. Speaking from Jameson’s point of view illustrates this better than anything.

 

 

Favorite part: Thank goodness Jameson finally figured out his feelings about Sam! Their relationship evolved in such a natural way.

 

The “huh” part: Mary Beth leaves Jameson with a ‘dear John’ letter. It always leaves me speechless to realize there are truly such lackluster, heartless people out there. He was a wonderful guy who loved her…what’s wrong with her? And then the stunt she pulls at the music shop by setting up Jameson for a kiss – witnessed by Sam (and why would Sam believe this?) – was maddening.

 

Recommend: Yep!

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on March 16, 2016.

Leave a Reply

