Pieces of Him

Pieces of Him 

By Alice Tribue

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

You want the truth?

The truth is there’ll never be enough time in the world to figure out how to go back.

I’ll never come up with a way to change the outcome.

The truth is I don’t need to hear I have a son.

I can’t deny it’s real because he’s the living, breathing proof my life is out of control.

But the truth is I love him.

The truth is it’s just him and me for the foreseeable future…

Until I met a girl who crossed my heart and changed it all.

Emelia was a bright star in my abandoned sky, and it would take a miracle to keep her there.

I’ll fight for miracles, though, because losing them would mean losing pieces of me.

 

Review:

I was captivated by this story from the first page. Max was an ass in every sense of the word. A twist of fate leaves him as a single parent to Xander, a child he never planned on having. Enter Emelia, a new neighbor who sees him as the ass he is, only to discover there is more to the story – and the man – than either realized.  The author does a compelling job of nurturing character development, especially with Max. Part of that development comes through an amazing cast of supporting characters, namely Keri and his boss. Emelia is pretty amazing, too, especially as the story evolves and the relationship between her and Max grows. One goes from truly disliking Max to cheering him on and hoping he realizes what everyone else is figuring out – he’s a pretty good guy down deep and just deserves a chance. Fast forward through meeting Emelia’s family, the resulting insecurities once Max realizes Emelia is rich, and dealing with the terror at the hands of her former boyfriend, and you have a match made in heaven.

 

Favorite part: Witnessing Max grow to love Xander and Emelia.

 

The “huh” part: It was hard to stomach the first chapter when Max’s original colors with Keri were disclosed. Realizing later what type of life Max grew up in, one wonders how he wasn’t even worse.

 

Recommend: Wholeheartedly.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on March 16, 2016.

Leave a Reply

