Heavy: A Bad Boy Next D

Heavy: A Bad Boy Next Door Romance

By Amelia Wilde

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

I’m not a good man. I can’t fall for a good girl.
I swore I’d never go back to Greenville. When I was a kid, my dad’s anger turned me black and blue, but I’ve turned it into a nice, stable salary. I don’t give a f*ck if being a heavy for the city’s most dangerous drug dealer is illegal—it pays.

But, here I am. The old asshole has cancer, and whatever I am, I’m not a monster. I want to say goodbye, but I’m sure as hell not going to linger. I’ll get in, get out, and get back to my life.

Leave it to Zelda to ruin my plans.

She’s too good for me, and I know it. Zelda is hopeful and kind and spends her days charming people at the local library. She’s a damn saint.

And the way she looks at me, her eyes full of raw desire and pure need…I can practically hear the way she’d moan my name. I want her in my bed. I want her as mine.

But if I fall for her, I put her in harm’s way. I hurt the only person I really care about.

The only problem?

It’s too late.

 

 

Review:

Zelda and Sawyer are intoxicating together, and their love story is brilliantly orchestrated. First off, don’t you just love their names?, and then secondly, Zelda is a librarian in her hometown public library while she’s completing her online master’s program in library science. Library science! (Bet she lends a different image to the definition in the dictionary!) She hooks up with a heavy for a drug dealer who just by happenchance has returned to his hometown at his aunt’s request to see/make amends with his dying father.

 

Zelda meets Sawyer one night when her BFF drags her out for a night on the town… but then drags her away when she’s put off by Sawyer and his friend. As luck would have it, though, Zelda and Sawyer can’t stop thinking and fantasizing about one another, and then luckily run into each other while out walking AND learn that Sawyer’s aunt lives right up the block from Zelda. These two are magnetically drawn to one another, and in true author Amelia Wilde fashion, Zelda and Sawyer radiate an almost palpable chemistry off the page, and their physical connection sizzles off the charts. These two are steamy in every way. Zelda helps to draw out the true essence of Sawyer, and she sees the good in him regardless of what he does for a living. He eventually comes to want to be who he’s really mean to be, willing to leave his rough life, make something of himself, and even forgive his abusive father. The reality is that you can leave the past behind, do the right thing and chart a new path regardless of how impossible it might seem, and whatever you do, never give up on love.

 

Heavy delivers suspenseful action, deep emotion, conflict, passionate angst, and lots of steam, sizzle, and substance. It’s pretty difficult not to fall in love with these two and their perfectly scripted HEA.

 

Another beautiful love story by author Amelia Wilde.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on February 11, 2017.

 

 

Leave a Reply

