Fair Play

Fair Play

By Mia Ford

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

Sean Donovan runs like the wind and parties like a hurricane.  How do I get a hot stud like him to notice a simple girl like me? Easy, by pretending to be the kind of girl I know he can’t resist… 

 

Kate Asher: Don’t tell me to play fair. I’m going to do whatever I have to do to get an interview with hard-partying football star Sean Donovan, even if it means dressing up like a hooker and playing bump-and-grind with him on the dancefloor.

 

Sean Donovan:  On the field, I play fair, but in life, it’s anybody’s game.  The second I saw her red hair and red lips I knew that I’d be making a forward pass.  And when she flashed that cleavage, whew man, it was game over!

 

She wants to get inside my head and I want to get inside her pants. I think it’s time we talk about a trade…

 

 

Review:

 

Author Mia Ford has penned a fast-flowing and enjoyable sports romance. The story premise was simple but endearing, the chemistry between the two main characters was hot, and the major secondary characters, Dru and Leon, add some bursts of sass to the mix.

 

Kate was a likeable heroine: smart, not too into herself, and caring – she’s the type of girl-next-door who you would like having for a friend. Sean appears to be pretty one-dimensional when he’s first introduced: he’s a young pro football star earning $8 million a year, cocky, an arrogant partier who routinely club hops and serves up the “Sean Special” to the woman (or two or three) of the night. Kate takes it upon herself to write an expose on the real Sean Donovan after learning he visits children in the hospital with cancer and donates a lot of money to worthy causes every year. Is the real Sean Donovan only the partying manwhore, or is there really a caring guy hidden under the highly publicized façade?

 

As it was a novella – and a lighter-hearted and easy-flowing read that kept me engrossed from start to finish – it’s not really meant to serve up a lot of depth in the storyline and character development departments. I did wonder, though, what Sean’s draw or motivation was to donate so much money to and visit the children at the hospital, and why or how he ended up buying his family’s cabin in the woods (I assumed by his comments that his dad may have died and this was how he kept the memory alive). I also was intrigued why Kate originally picked out Sean to profile – there likely had to be an underlying reason besides his good looks, star appeal and bad boy reputation (was she motivated to uncover his good deeds because her heart flipped every time she saw his picture?).

 

All in all, a great read – it’s fun, so well written that it really flows smoothly, and you really grow to want these two to hook up permanently.

 

I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.

 

Review was originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on February 5, 2017.

Leave a Reply

