Healing Jacob

Healing Jacob

By Nicole Stewart

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

 

Jacob Maddox

I’ve always wanted a fairytale love, and the night we meet is like something lifted out of a fever dream. With no place to go on a dark and stormy night, a luckless wanderer finds shelter with the man of his dreams. Except Lucas Deveraux is no Prince Charming.

He’s a bakery owner with an attitude problem. I’m a homeless guitar player with damage. We’re a bad ending waiting to happen. But his wicked mouth promises to cure everything that hurts me.

And I want to believe in him…

Lucas Deveraux

The night Jacob Maddox stumbles into my life, his vulnerability ignites a passion I can’t control. We bump heads, but our throbbing bodies connect. He’s always on the defense. I can’t bridle my tongue. He gets under my skin and into my system, and I can’t get enough.

I’m practical. This isn’t exactly a love story. Jacob comes with baggage, but so do I after being left at the altar by my high school sweetheart.

Oh, did I mention my ex chose right now to make a comeback?

 

 

Review:

 

I’ve agonized over writing this review for nearly two weeks! – and only because I don’t know how to best convey how much I loved this book. Words just don’t seem to cut it with me on this one, for some reason – the first time I can remember this ever happening….

 

I loved this book and it was extremely well written. The flawed and vulnerable characters and the raw, emotionally charged storyline reeled me in and kept me hooked from start to finish. It was a masterful combination of deep, no-holds-barred, pure, genuine, and heart-ripping (and gripping) emotion and agonizingly – nearly visceral – storytelling, about two very different men who complete one another, demons, heartaches, bumpy journeys, and all. Author Nicole Stewart masterfully dove down straight to the bottom of the two main characters’ souls in this one with Jacob Maddox and Lucas Deveraux. If what these two shared isn’t the definition of true love, than I don’t know what is.

 

And the heat quotient? Stewart can write scorching, intimately tender love scenes that extend far beyond the physical. These are by far some of the best written – and convincing! – ones I’ve ever read. Not only is the sex hot and heavy, but so are the emotions – off the charts.

 

So, I still feel at a loss for words and that I’m not giving sufficient credit… because I don’t know how to. And I’m definitely not one to fawn and compliment generously, either, but I’ll share the notes I jotted down for lack of a better plan….

 

Intense. Simultaneously heart-wrenching, heartbreaking, and heartwarming. Deeping moving. Passionate. Emotionally intimate. Depth and layers to the characters.

 

One thing I know: Healing Jacob gets filed among my “Wow!” reads.

 

 

 

 

“It dawned on me that he didn’t expect kindness from anyone because, in his mind, he wasn’t worthy of it.”

 

 

“You’re not an asshole, Lucas. You did what you did because you were protecting yourself. I did what I did to you because I thought I was protecting myself. We make mistakes. The hardest part of the mistake isn’t making it, it’s admitting it and coming to terms with it afterward.”

Leave a Reply

