GHOST (Boston Underworld Book 3)

GHOST (Boston Underworld Book 3)

By Ashleigh Zavarelli

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

Talia.
I have always been a bird. Caged by one prison or another when the only thing I ever wanted was to fly away.
Sold. Beaten. Starved. Drugged.
Nothing scares me anymore.
Until him.
He makes the numbness go away.
He is hazardous to me. It has nothing to do with his mafia lifestyle, and everything to do with what he offers.
A gilded prison.
A retreat from everything that I once knew. The reality I have no desire to return to.
He thinks he’s caged me, but soon…
I’m going to fly.

Alexei.
I live by a code. The Vory code.
In this mafiya world, there are traditions.
Expectations.
She does not care for these things. She does not care about anything.
She thinks she has me fooled with her haunted eyes.
What she can’t know is that I see her better than most.
She wants to fly.
But I’m going to clip her wings.
And make her my wife.

 

Review:

 

If you thought CROW and REAPER were raw, gritty, gruesome, heart-gripping, brutally deep and intense, then hold on to your seat because there’s GHOST.

 

I make absolutely no secret that I have a soft spot for Lachlan Crow and would selfishly steal that man in a heartbeat for my own, and then there was Ronan “Reaper”, who was so flawed, complex and tortured yet so protective, loving and loyal, and now we meet Alexei, the Russian mobster who has been a secondary though integral character in the first two books of the series. Just when you can’t fathom author Ashleigh Zavarelli even coming close to masterfully crafting characters any better than she did in those first two, she not only does, but she hits it out of the park.

 

Talia has endured more pain and inconceivable anguish than anyone should have to experience, and Alexei mirrors her torment as the memories and daily storms of his life plague him from the quiet prison in which he resides. If love could ever be equally tragic and heartbreaking at the same time, then that’s what it is with Talia and Alexei. That and fighting not to love and trust the one – and only one – you love and trust.

 

And in traditionally true Zavarelli style, GHOST is extremely well written, described down to the most minute detail, the story poignantly framed from start to finish and meticulously scripted, and just downright good. As usual, the characters are broken and damaged, but oh, so damned beautiful, too.

 

Thank you, Ashleigh Zavarelli, for the privilege of providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

P.S. So looking forward to Rory’s story and expect that Nikolai has one burning in the brush, too.

 

Recommend?

I definitely recommend GHOST, but…and it’s a big but…do yourself a favor and read the series in order. I say that not because you NEED to read the books in order to understand and/or appreciate them, but for no other reason than it just makes the experience that much more intense.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on August 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

