Stay: A Second Chance Bad Boy Romance

Stay: A Second Chance Bad Boy Romance

By Melinda Minx

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

I’ve made a lot of mistakes—a decade and a half of scars and ink.
I’ve hurt. I’ve killed.
But those aren’t the mistakes keeping me up at night.
Leaving her was the worst decision of my life.
But I’m back now, and you better f**cking believe I’m staying this time.

MASON

I’ve been through three wars, but winning Sophie Sinclaire back will be harder than any battle. She was the one good thing left in my life, and I abandoned her.

She’s furious with me. Even after fifteen years. She looks at me like she wants to kill me. Hell, I’m pretty sure she does want me dead.

If she wants me dead, she can get in line. Front and center, where I can see those big doe eyes and freckled cheeks. Besides, she wouldn’t be angry with me if she didn’t still want me, right?

Just a few weeks. That’s all I need, because I have a habit of getting what I want, and I want her.

SOPHIE

I came back to Tuckett Bay to take care of my Dad. The last thing I expected—or wanted—was to see Mason Steel again.

He was my first crush, my first kiss, my first…everything.

He walks into the room chest first, and there’s enough heat in his blue eyes to melt straight through my cold shoulder. His insufferable smirk gets my heart pounding just like before, but there’s no way in hell he deserves a second chance—no way I should even consider it.

One month. That’s all he gets. I’ve got a job waiting for me back in Boston, so what the hell. Maybe watching Mr. Action Figure try to win me back over for the next couple weeks is just the thing I need.

 

Review:

An emotionally charged read. Endearing. Great chemistry. Sub-plots that drive the story forward. Strong, independent, and multi-layered characters with heart.

Mason Steel’s battle wounds may have healed, but it took a long time for the resulting scars to shape his perspective. He realized he had made a horrible error in judgement when he didn’t keep his promise to return home to Sophie after his tour in Afghanistan was complete – that is, not until 15 years later when he finally called it quits and returned to his hometown. Mason hadn’t even returned home for his parents’ funerals – he was, after all, a failure: he hadn’t been able to protect his brother Eric from being killed in battle (the reason why he had enlisted in the first place after 9/11 was to keep him safe), and then so much time had passed after he had stopped reading and responding to Sophie’s letters – she didn’t deserve to be stuck with a failure. But the reader has known since the beginning that there’s more depth to Mason than what he lets on – when he stands behind Sophie in school and helps her build up her self-confidence, eventually falling for her.

Mason and Sophie have a special connection, so when Mason no longer answers her letters and doesn’t return home, Sophie is heartbroken, but she forces herself to move on. When Mason eventually returns to their hometown a decade and a half later than expected, Sophie – who is working at the local Crab Shack while she’s caring for her dad during some reflective time between jobs – sees a ghost: Mason Steel.  He has come back and joined the fishing fleet. She erects a wall and hardens herself against him, but Sophie’s dad arranges for Mason to come over for dinner. He thinks it will drive Sophie to leave town to pursue a job, but is there a chance they can have a second chance?

Author Melinda Minx creates relatable characters with realistic personalities, a splash of humor, and authentic emotions and chemistry, and the storyline was believable, steady-paced, and entertaining. Mason and Sophie shared combustible chemistry, and their love was sincere, sweet, and sexy. Sophie’s dad Hank was a strong secondary character who helped thread the story together, and the HEA was delightfully fun and satisfying.

 

This review was originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on February 5, 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

