Played by Love (Soccer Romance)

Played by Love (Soccer Romance)

By Rachelle Ayala

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

Soccer goalkeeper, Jaden Sloup, has his eye on Ella Kennedy, a woman who won’t date jocks or frat boys. He dons a pair of nerd glasses and hugs a laptop to convince her he’s a techno geek, and she agrees to go to Las Vegas with him for a cosplay convention where his team’s playoff game happens to be.

Jaden must juggle sizzling in the sheets with Ella against a soccer match and hanging with his frat brother teammates. When a bully harasses Ella and challenges Jaden to a fight, he proves that even a goalie can score.

 

Review:

I think I got too caught up in not understanding the anime realm and Cosplay and that dictated some of my “huh? What’s going on, I don’t get it?” mentality. It was also too YA for me, I’m guessing. I about stopped reading it, but then figured I had paid for it and it’s a novella, so I wasn’t going to be wasting much time once it was all said and done.
Favorite part: I did like the ending in the Lanai Room – it was my favorite scene with the couple.

 

The “huh?” part: I just don’t follow the anime thing. At all.

 

Recommend: It’s your call.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on March 16, 2016.

Leave a Reply

