Music of the Soul: Souls of Chicago #2

Music of the Soul: Souls of Chicago #2

By Annabella Michaels

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

Besides his family, music had always been the most important thing in Carter Greene’s life. Having a career in music was everything he had ever dreamed of. That was until the terrible night when he nearly lost everything.
Carter can’t get the image of one particular man out of his mind; the man who found him in his darkest moment. The one who risked everything to save him and the same person who most likely never wants to speak to him again.
Ryan Marshall had led a pretty solitary existence ever since his grandfather had passed away. He spent most of his free time renovating the property he had inherited while avoiding the dating scene. Lately, he found himself longing for someone special; a man he could share his life with.
One fateful night, an emergency call placed Carter in Ryan’s life and the two felt an immediate connection. Unable to stop thinking about him, Ryan decided to reach out, but was disappointed when Carter was not at all what he expected.
Ryan is determined to move on and forget all about the beautiful man he rescued, but he soon realizes that sometimes fate has other plans.

 

 

Review:

Now THIS is how you write a beautiful love story.

 

Author Annabella Michaels truly outdid herself with Carter’s and Ryan’s story, the second book in the Souls of Chicago series. If you were like me and had been waiting for this one with bated breath, consider yourself forewarned because this one will leave you breathless. I simply don’t think I’ll be able to write a review worthy of doing it justice in conveying how much I enjoyed – no loved – this story. I can’t recall a book I’ve read where I felt as one with the characters – it goes beyond good writing and brilliant characterization – and this book has immeasurable amounts of both of these elements – it has the steamiest, most loving, erotic, passionate, and emotionally driven sex scenes; authenticity; thorough, engaging, and seamlessly threaded storylines; romance; chemistry; and just…sigh. I’m so in love with Carter and Ryan. It doesn’t get much better than this…but then, I may have thought the same after Caleb and Gio, so the anxious wait for Landon’s and Micah’s story awaits. I have a feeling THAT one will be even hotter yet.

_______________________________________

I don’t know how long we stood there, but he held me until I was cried out and all that remained was my gentle hiccups as I calmed back down. Carter was exactly what I had needed. He was my comfort. I took a deep breath and wiped by eyes with trembling hands.

 

“Thank you. I’m sorry about that, but thank you.”

 

His eyes were filled with worry, but he gave me a beautiful smile that made my heart melt.

 

“Don’t ever apologize for coming to me if you need something. I want to be that person for you.”

 

_________________________________________

 

“Nothing can scare me away, but if you keep looking at me like that, I’m going to have to drag you away from here and bury myself inside of you so deep that you won’t know where I end and you begin.”

 

________________________________________

 

I know it was stupid, but I needed to know that when he left, he would be carrying evidence of our love with him. While no one else would even know it was there, Carter would know and that was what mattered to me. Carter seemed to understand that need and he clung to me, his eyes never leaving mine as I filled him. More was said between us in that moment than in any other time we had spoken actual words and we stopped existing as two separate people: our souls merging into one.

 

Review originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on October 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

