Benched

Benched

By Abigail Graham

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

Mr. Right has never been so freakin’ wrong.
I’m a single mom and a cop. When some arrogant superstar thinks he can speed through my town and smirk and charm his way out of a ticket, he’s wrong. I wrote the ticket and impounded his car.

Then he moved in next door.

This muscled up god with his glorious physique, panty-dropping smile and smart mouth is my new neighbor. He hates the ‘burbs, but that doesn’t seem to stop him from flirting with me every chance he gets. As if strutting around in boxers with his abs and chest on display is enough to make me forget his snide comments and wisecracks. Oh sure, he knows how to turn on the charm… like I’ll fall for that.

I bet that would make a great story, bagging the cop that gave him the ticket- but I’m not some ditzy arm candy lining up to be the next notch in his bedpost.

I don’t have time to fool around. It doesn’t matter if he’s hot, and younger than I am, and just looking at him makes my legs shake.

The closer we get, the more I think I misjudged him. Somewhere beneath that arrogant smirk is a good man, maybe even the right man, but my past threatens to shatter us both…

 

 

Review:

Once again, author Abigail Graham delivers a first-rate, well-crafted and delightful romance worthy of five stars. The sex scenes are over-the-top hot – smokin’, actually – and envy-worthy (who wouldn’t want her very own Alex?). Some readers may be surprised at the pace Alex’s and Phoebe’s relationship takes off considering how it started, but frankly it’s worth hanging on and enjoying the ride. Phoebe initially took her time and allowed her feelings to simmer, and then poof!, she decided to let the pot boil over. The domesticity slant was really enjoyable – as if Alex needed to become any more heart- and lust-worthy – especially since Graham does such a realistic job of painting Alex’s true colors as he allows himself to feel and grow, even overcoming what seemed to be an initial dislike of kids. The most notable scenes for me included him lying in the hammock and not holding back on expressing his emotions – a guy, expressing his emotions, IN WORDS! – cooking dinner and doing laundry (without being asked) and mowing the lawn the final time and this-is-my-life-and-I-call-it-like-I-see-it approach, not to mention how he takes an initially bad experience and molds it into a dream-come-true fairy tale.

 

Alex and Phoebe are well-developed and truly likable characters who have more layers than the reader may originally think, and ultimately they’re like any one of us and just need and want to love and be loved. I appreciated how they grew both individually and as a couple – they were real right down to their conversations. The reader will discover a couple of the story’s twists are truly original and surprising – who else was blindsided by Phoebe’s admission about her younger years and the real story about Carrie’s father (I know I sure didn’t guess that one). Graham delivers first-rate bantering dialogue between these two, and a few richly developed scenes with other characters prove just as memorable (just wait until you get to the birthday party!). This is a beautiful love story, and Alex’s relationship with Phoebe’s daughter will make your ovaries dance.

 

I am providing an honest review based on an Advanced Readers Copy of the book.

 

Original review posted on Amazon and Goodreads on October 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

