You’re Mine: A Bad Boy Mafia Romance (Carbone Crime Family)

You’re Mine: A Bad Boy Mafia Romance (Carbone Crime Family)

By Emma Spring

Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5

 

Summary:

He’s going to make me beg before I get it.

I didn’t ask to marry that dirty bastard.

My father is the leader of the Irish mob, and he sold me off to Enzo Carbone as a part of his peace deal with the Italians. My new husband is handsome and charming, but he’s dangerous as hell.

I hate being around that cocky bastard. Enzo thinks he owns me because I was forced to marry him.

I should run away, but I can’t seem to move every time his body presses against my hips. He’s sexy and dominating with hands that make me grip his arms and toss my head back.

When the peace fails and my father is murdered, suddenly everyone’s after me. The only person keeping me alive is my dangerous husband Enzo.

He’s harsh with his enemies and demanding at home. I don’t know how I can survive him.

His intense smile says everything I need to know: I’m his for as long as he wants me.

I need to beg. I need to obey. I need to hear him say, “You’re Mine.”

 

Review:

Italian/Irish mafioso stories are some of my favorites, especially when the author ensures all the I’s are dotted and T’s are crossed: tightly woven plots, hard-core characters, steamy sex, unexpected twists and turns, steadily paced story-telling and a dreamy HEA. This genre is blessed with some awfully talented and brilliant storytellers who are masterful writers, so right out of the gate, a novel is confronted with some pretty high expectations.

 

I like Enzo from the get-go – what woman wouldn’t, really, and as we get to know him, it gets even easier to like him. If there is any surprise, it’s that he’s a lot softer deep down than one might expect from a boss’s son, even though he can see red and end someone’s life at the drop of a hat and quickly gave up his free-wheeling days for his wife from an arranged marriage. Sophia is only 18 when she learns her doting father has made a peace treaty with the Irish mafia, but it means she’s getting hitched in a month to the Italian mob enemy’s boss’s son. The story is certainly promising, but it could have benefited from stronger plot development and in-depth mob scenarios, in addition to more realistic, thought-out dialogue between Enzo and Sophia. The scenes keep the story moving, but perhaps not as steadily as it could – and their conversations almost seem too basic and carefree, almost immature (unrealistic, perhaps?). Some scenes also seemed a bit too short and/or cut-and-dried, such as the scene where Sophia’s mom escapes with some unknown guy and it just sort of gets…blown off. I did keep reading because I did want to learn how Enzo and Sophia fared as a couple. The angst and drama never felt truly threatening, and issues were almost resolved too easily with no build-up.

 

This book has received a lot of exemplary reviews so I’m chalking up my harshness to it simply being a difference of opinion in what I like for writing styles. Enzo still gets an A+ in my book, though, even though I found it a bit shallow for a true mafia romance.

 

Review originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on October 12, 2016.

One thought on “You’re Mine: A Bad Boy Mafia Romance (Carbone Crime Family)

Leave a Reply

