Breaking It All: A Hellfire Riders MC Romance

Breaking It All: A Hellfire Riders MC Romance

By Kati Wilde

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary:

ANNA
When Zach “Gunner” Cooper rode into my life ten years ago, he turned me inside out with a single kiss. Then he discovered who I am—his best friend’s little sister—and he never touched me again.

Now he’s the Hellfire Riders’ sergeant at arms—sexy, dangerous, and still the only man who’s ever set my body on fire. I’ve tried to stop wanting him. I’ve tried and tried. But this time…I have to get over him. Because everything I feel for him is killing me inside.

GUNNER
For ten years, I’ve pretended that I don’t think of Anna Wall as anything other than our enforcer’s little sister. Because the blood running through my veins is poison, and getting close to Anna will only destroy her.

But when her brother goes missing and the past comes calling, and a threat to her life waits at her front door…there’s no pretending anymore. She’s mine. She’ll always be mine.

And I’ll do anything to break through Anna’s defenses and make her believe it.

 

Review:

What isn’t to like about Gunner? Other than he has taken a decade to admit his true feelings for Anna, his best friend’s sister. Of course, she’s just as guilty of not being honest about her mutual feelings, though she has had opportunity to flirt with Gunner and he rejects her. As a couple, these two click and the chemistry is raw and true. Typically I can get pretty fed up fairly quickly with a character playing the “woe is me” card – in this case, Anna dwells on Gunner’s rejection over and over and over – but somehow Kati Wilde keeps me placated and reading and genuinely interested in the storyline. I never really tire of them since they continue to make progress and, when he takes her with him to find her brother Stone in California, I wanted to shout “Hallelujah!” for not leaving her behind. Mind you, meeting Gunner’s family and being introduced to his cult-driven family proved to be a catalyst for him to admit his true feelings to Anna, especially after she’s confronted fairly forcefully with his family’s white supremacist mentality and meets the woman Gunner’s mother wants him to marry. Finally the star-crossed lovers can move forward and act on their lust and love…and it’s doubtful the reader will be disappointed with those hot scenes. How Gunner and his Hellfire Riders brothers come together to save Stone amalgamates the story fairly rapidly and provides a rewarding conclusion – not to mention it opens the door to some future tales about Stone and the woman who deceived him and led to his capture in the first place. I almost was expecting Gunner to encourage two of his brothers to cross-over to another MC…maybe that will be a future story. The HEA ending is maybe one of my most favorite from any recent books I’ve read. As I said when I started, what isn’t t like about Gunner?

 

The “huh?” part?

I couldn’t understand how Anna could tolerate – even like! – Grace, the woman Gunner’s mother had selected to be his wife. I realize that eventually Anna realized she had nothing to be jealous about, but still!

 

Favorite part?

It would be a toss-up between the HEA and the spicy love scenes. Typically speaking, these scenes happen, but the chemistry seared off the pages.

 

Recommend?

Yep!

 

Originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads on April 11, 2016.

Leave a Reply

